Parking Compliance and Citations

Parking Compliance Information

UC Davis tasks Transportation Services with funding, managing, and maintaining the campus parking and roadway system entirely by user fees.  We also know that many would not pay the smaller parking fee without a significantly higher risk of paying a fine.  To that end, the Parking Compliance division of Transportation Services searches for, and issues citations to vehicles parked on campus but are not in compliance with or have not paid the appropriate fee.  However, Transportation Services would prefer to collect drivers’ small daily parking fees instead of issuing citations and collecting a more considerable fine.  To learn more, read this article on ”Why?” on parking citations.

To keep parking fees as low as possible for all users, Transportation Services issues citations to encourage voluntary compliance.  We prefer higher levels of compliance to the issuing of more citations.  Our appeal process seeks behavior change as opposed to collecting fines.  We have and will work with individuals to provide them with opportunities to become and remain compliant with the parking regulations. 

Need Motorist Assistance?

Motorist Assistance is available:

  • Academic Year: 7:15 a.m. to 9:45 p.m.
  • Winter Holiday and Summer: 7:15 a.m. to 4:45 p.m.

See Motorist Assistance Service

Parking Permit Requirements

Paid permits are required Monday through Friday from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Permits are only required on the weekends and University holidays during special events where parking areas with permit requirements will be posted in advance. Appropriate use of parking facilities and restricted spaces are enforced 24/7 by Transportation Services or the UC Davis Police Department. A valid parking permit can be purchased through the AMP Park app or through the Level Rate Parking Program (employees only).

→ back to top

Parking Citation Information and Payment Options

Payment Options

Click here to Pay Citation Online

Transportation Services
University of California, Davis
1 Shields Avenue

Davis, California  95616

Accepted Payment Options

  • Visa or Mastercard (Online or at Transportation Services)
  • Check (made out to "UC Regents")
  • Cash (At Transportation Services or the Cashier's office) * **

* Payment made with coins in excess of $2.00 must be rolled with the individual's name, address and phone number printed on each roll.
**TS office will process cash payments with exact amount only 

  • See more information about citation notifications and failure to pay
  • Notice of an outstanding fine will be mailed to the registered owner of the vehicle for any citation that is not paid or appealed seven calendar days after issuance.
    This notice will provide a 14-day period within which the fine must be paid or appealed.
    Failure to pay or file an appeal by the due date provided will result in a doubling of the original fine amount and submission of the outstanding balance to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as a hold against the registration renewal.
    Any vehicle with five or more delinquent parking violations outstanding is subject to immobilization, towing or impound at the owner’s expense (CVC 22651).

→ back to top

Restricted Spaces

Please note that restricted spaces are subject to enforcement 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Restricted spaces may be designated and identified by the presence of posted signs, curb markings, parking space markings or other similar devices commonly used to indicate vehicle parking spaces. Campus housing areas require permits 24 hours a day and are issued by the respective housing office.

Parking is allowed in marked spaces only that are designated for parking. Unless you have the appropriate permit or authorization from Transportation Services, please do not park in the following areas:

  • Red zones or Reserved spaces
  • Loading zones or time zones, beyond the posted maximum time
  • Chancellor/Vice Chancellor/Deans areas
  • Disabled, D, H, TH, Vendor, Exempt vehicle and Special Permit spaces
  • Carpool/Vanpool Spaces (until after the posted time)
  • Any other restricted space/area
  • Meters, beyond maximum time purchased with coin (until after 5pm with a valid permit)
  • Housing areas (as posted)
  • Bike or pedestrian pathways
  • Unpaved or unmarked parking areas

→ back to top

Parking Invoice Program

Responding to feedback from the UC Davis community, the Parking Invoice Program was created to address parking citations issued to those who forgot to pay for parking or weren’t aware of their parking permit options. Invoices are a limited-time offer to pay the non-affiliate daily rate instead of a parking citation fine. 

Important things to know about the Parking Invoice Program: 

  • Invoices may be issued to those parked without a valid permit 
  • Affiliates and non-affiliates are eligible to be invoiced twice every 12 months  
  • The deadline to pay the invoice fee is midnight two calendar days after it was issued
  • If left unpaid, the invoice will convert to a citation 
  • Invoices are not appealable and will automatically convert to a citation if the appeal process is initiated 

Click Here to Pay an Invoice Online

→ back to top

FAQ: Permit Requirements and Motorist Assistance

  • When are permits required?
  • Paid permits are required Monday through Friday from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Permits are only required on the weekends and University holidays during special events where parking areas with permit requirements will be posted in advance.
  • What motorist assistance services are offered?
  • Transportation Services provides services for vehicles parked on-campus including battery jump, vehicle entry (assistance for registered owners who locked their keys in their car) and tire inflation. These services are provided at no cost. To request Motorist Assistance, call 530-752-8277 M-F from 7am - 9:45pm during the academic year or major events where TS attendants are present.

→ go to FAQ main

FAQ: Parking Citations

  • Where can I pay a citation fine?
  • Online: at the Transportation Services' website
    By mail:  Send a check or money order made payable to UC Regents, and mail to UC Davis Transportation Services, One Shields Avenue, Davis CA 95616.
    In person (or use the after hours drop box) at the following locations: 
  • If I feel I have received a citation without cause, what can I do?
  • You may appeal a citation within 21 days of the issue date of the citation or 14 days from the date a delinquency notice is mailed. To appeal your citation, visit the Transportation Services' Parking Portal by clicking here.
  • What are my options if I receive a parking citation?
  • Within 21 days of receiving a parking citation or 14 days from the date a delinquency notice is mailed, the recipient may:
    1. Pay the citation fine, using the options noted above
    2. Appeal the citation by completing a Request for Citation Review form available at Transportation Services, or online
  • What happens if I do not pay the fine or request a citation review within 21 days?
  • If the fine is not paid or the Request for Citation Review submitted within 7 days from the citation issuance date, a delinquency notice is sent to the registered owner of the vehicle. If the fine is not paid within 14 days of the delinquency notice, the parking fine will double and notice will be sent to the Department of Motor Vehicles to place a hold on the vehicle's registration.
  • How do I contest the decision made by the appeals review committee?
  • A person may request an administrative hearing, either in-person (phone) or by mail, when a citation appeal is denied. If one wishes to pursue an Administrative Hearing, the full amount of the citation fine must first be paid and a "Request for Administrative Hearing" form submitted to Transportation Services within 21 days of the date of the denial of the appeal. A blank copy of the "Request for Administrative Hearing" form is included with the citation appeal denial.

    Note: A request can be made for a waiver of payment of the parking citation fine for the Administrative Hearing due to financial hardship. Documented evidence of financial hardship must be provided to Transportation Services at least two business days before the fine is due. Each request will be considered on its own merits. Please contact Transportation Services at 530-752-8277 or by email for assistance with this process.
  • Is the Administrative Hearing conducted in person or by-mail?
  • A person may request either an in-person (phone) hearing or a by-mail hearing. If a hearing is scheduled and the appealing party is unable to attend the hearing, they email Transportation Services to reschedule no later than 2 business days prior to the hearing.
  • How is the Administrative Hearing conducted?
  • The Administrative Hearing is an opportunity for you to present your case to the Parking Citation Hearing Officer. The Hearing Officer will listen to why you believe the citation should be dismissed, receive any evidence you wish to present, and ask questions about what happened. Keep in mind that the parking citation is considered "prima facie" evidence that the violation occurred (sufficient evidence to uphold the citation unless disproved).

    In addition, the issuing officer shall not be required to be present at the hearing (see California Vehicle Code 40215[b][4]). After presenting your evidence, the Parking Citation Hearing Officer, based upon a preponderance of the evidence, will either uphold the citation or dismiss it. If the hearing is by mail, the decision will be mailed to the individual. If the hearing is in-person, the decision may either be given at the conclusion of the hearing, or it may be sent at a later date.
  • How can I best prepare for the Administrative Hearing?
  • It is to your benefit to prepare for the hearing carefully. Provide all evidence that supports your case. This may include, but is not limited to, photographs, documents, your own testimony, or the testimony of witnesses. Please notify Transportation Services in advance if you wish to bring a witness.

    If you or your witness(es) present written testimony, the following statement should appear at the end of the testimony. "I, (name of person testifying), state that the testimony I have given is true under penalty of perjury." (signature of person testifying) Please keep in mind that the parking citation will not be dismissed, nor will a fine be reduced, simply because it has been appealed. If you wish to prove that your vehicle was not in the location indicated on the citation, please provide evidence to that fact. An unsupported statement is generally not persuasive. Also provide documentation to support any medical excuse or claim of mechanical issues.
  • If my appeal is denied at the Administrative Hearing, can I appeal the citation further?
  • If the citation is upheld as a result of the Administrative hearing, the appealing party may ask for review of the decision by the Yolo County Superior Court within 30 days of the date of the Administrative Hearing decision. (If a waiver of the citation fee was granted earlier, the citation must be paid prior to the request, but no later than 14 days after the notification of the Administrative Hearing decision.) There is a $25 filing fee for review by the Court, however the filing fee and citation amount would be refunded by Transportation Services if the Court dismisses the citation. All materials presented or heard at the Administrative Hearing are forwarded to the Court if an appeal is submitted.

→ go to FAQ main